Louisiana Tech University Logo

College of Engineering & Science - Louisiana Tech University


College Deans: C. Ray Wimberly

1894-1901: Professor Herget
1901-1903: Harry Gwinner
1903-1907: R.W. Selvidge
1907-1910: William B. Hamilton
1910-1918: Frank Bogard
1918-1923: W. L. Mitchell 
1923-1937: Frank Bogard
1937-1938: J. T. Folk
1938-1940: E. C. Barrett
1940-1942: Roy T. Sessums
1942-1945: Harley J. Nethken
1945-1952: Roy T. Sessums
1952-1976: Ben Bogard
1976-1982: Jack Thigpen
1982-1987: C. Ray Wimberly
1987-1988: R. Michael Harnett
1988-1998: Barry Benedict
1998-2004: Leslie K. Guice
2004-2013: Stanley A. Napper

C. Ray Wimberly was born on August 2, 1936, in Wichita Falls, Texas. Wimberly attended Texas A&M where he earned his B.S. in Aeronautical Engineering in 1961. He then attended the University of Alabama and received his M.S. in Mechanical Engineering in 1965. In 1968, Wimberly returned to Texas A&A and earned his Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering. He is a registered professional engineer in Texas, Mississippi, and Louisiana, and a licensed private pilot. Wimberly is also a member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the American Society of Engineering Education, and the Louisiana Engineering Society.

Since earning his B.S. in 1961, Wimberly has held various jobs in the field of engineering. He was a Senior Engineer for the Boeing Company, an Aerospace and project engineer for NASA, Marshall Space Flight Center, a senior specialist at the LTV Aerospace Corporation, an assistant professor of mechanical engineering at the Virginia Military Institute, a professor of mechanical engineering at the University of Mississippi, and a professor and head of the department of mechanical engineering, and director of technical services and director of university security at Montana State University. Dr. Wimberly has had diversified research interests in aerodynamics, ocean engineering, and laser technology. Most of his time in high-speed aerodynamics was spent analyzing reentry dynamics of slender bodies. In ocean engineering, he has worked on the mathematical modeling of ocean waves and the fluid dynamic forces associated with buoys and offshore platforms. He also designed a diagnostic laser laboratory that investigated the high-speed gas dynamic effects of chemical laser devices. Wimberly has written dozens of articles, which have been published in journals and technical papers presented at various meetings, workshops, and government agencies throughout the United States and Canada.

Dr. Wimberly replaced Dr. Jack Thigpen as dean of the College of Engineering for Louisiana Tech University on July 1, 1982, in the midst of increased enrollment and reduced federal funding. The appointment was announced by Tech President F. Jay Taylor and approved by the Board of Trustees for State Colleges and Universities.

While dean, Dr. Wimberly was responsible for all of the instructional research programs within the College, which included 15 academic programs, plus the Nuclear Center and instructional and research laboratories. He was a member of the Louisiana State Council of Engineering Deans, the Louisiana Tech University Administrative Council, the Louisiana Tech University Council of Academic Deans, the Board of Directors Louisiana Tech Engineering Foundation, the Board of Directors and Vice President of the Pipes Foundation, Inc., and the Board of Directors of the River Cities High Technology Group, Inc. Dr. Wimberly stepped down as dean in June 1987.