Louisiana Tech University Logo

College of Engineering & Science - Louisiana Tech University

Office of

Distinguished Alumni 2013

Each year, Louisiana Tech recognizes alumni who have served as outstanding ambassadors for the University. A Distinguished Alumni Award recipient is chosen from each of the Colleges. The 2013 College of Engineering & Science Distinguished Alumnus is Mike Pearson, President and CEO of Orion Marine Group in Houston and past president of the Engineering and Science Foundation Board.

Mike Pearson ('69)

Civil Engineering
President and CEO, Orion Marine Group

In addition to the University award, the College of Engineering & Science recognizes alumni from each of the College’s degree programs, and the awards are presented in January.

The January 2013 program award recipients were:

Jeffery Slade (‘81)

Biomedical Engineering
Quality Director, Merck Consumer Care Global Products & Projects

Thomas Muse (‘59)

Chemical Engineering
Chairman of Muse, Stancil and Company

Sandra Swayze (‘82)

Assistant Professor of Radiation Oncology, University of Kentucky, Department of Radiation Medicine

Sean Callan (‘97)

Civil Engineering
Vice President of Advanced Geosolutions, Inc.

Debra Blackman (‘75)

Computer Science
Senior Vice President and Chief Information Officer for Progressive Bank

A.C. Hollins, Jr. (‘72)

Construction Engineering Technology
Director of Operations and Infrastructure for National Security Technologies

William Slack (‘71)

Electrical Engineering
President of B&D Electrical Contractors, Inc.

Ernest Green (‘81)

Electrical Engineering Technology
Site Manager for Angus Chemical Company

William K. Sales, Jr. (‘79)

Industrial Engineering
Senior Vice President of Operations for Reliance Steel and Aluminum Company

Paul Reichley (‘62)

Mathematics and Statistics
Retired Project Manager for the California Technology Institute Jet Propulsion Lab

John Coast (‘64)

Mechanical Engineering
Owner and Founder for Coast Machinery, LLC

Les Sisemore (‘67)

Retired President for VGO Enterprises, LLC

Retired Program:
Robert Mack Caruthers ('61)

Petroleum Engineering
Retired Professor and Department Head, Department of Petroleum Engineering and Geosciences, Louisiana Tech