Louisiana Tech University Logo

College of Engineering & Science - Louisiana Tech University

Office of

Distinguished Alumni 2014

The College of Engineering & Science recognizes alumni from each of the College’s degree programs annually.

The January 2014 program award recipients were:

Biomedical Engineering '87

Dr. Mohammad F. Kiani
Chair of the Mechanical Engineering Department, Temple University, Philadelphia, PA

Chemistry '00

Dr. Brandon Lane Phillips
Driscoll Children’s Hospital, Corpus Christi, TX

Computer Science '78

James E. Wingate

Civil Engineering '72

John William ‘Billy’ Moore
Project Engineer for Cardno TBE Group, Shreveport, LA

Computer Science '70

William Wayne ‘Bill’ Seaman
Owner of W.W. Seamans & Associates, Huntington, CT

Construction Engineering Technology '95

Kenneth Lynn ‘Ken’ Ward
Project Manager for Caddo Parish Public Works, Shreveport, LA

Electrical Engineering '54

Dr. Robert Howard ‘Bob’ Newell
Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering, Louisiana Tech, Ruston, LA

Electrical Engineering Technology '90

Timothy Mark ‘Tim’ Lazaroe
Manager and Owner of RV Cams, Baton Rouge, LA

Industrial Engineering '01

Elizabeth M. Taylor
Group Leader for NASA’s International Space Station Environmental & Thermal Operating Systems, Houston, TX

Mathematics '83

Dr. Jenna Carpenter
Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies, College of Engineering & Science, Louisiana Tech University, Ruston, LA

Mechanical Engineering '57

Oscar Kemper ‘Jack’ Pickels, Jr.
Professor of Graduate Courses for SMU’s Engineering Management Program, Dallas, TX

Petroleum Engineering '81

Danny James Rea
Manager for Anadarko Petroleum Corporation, Houston, TX
(special award for alumni who graduated from a program no longer offered by the COES)

Physics '59

Elam Charles ‘Bud’ Frye, Jr.
Owner of Frye International, Longview, TX

Science Education '61

Ronald Hobart ‘Ron’ Thompson, Sr.
Professor Emeritus of Chemical Engineering at Louisiana Tech, Ruston, LA