Louisiana Tech University Logo

College of Engineering & Science - Louisiana Tech University

Office of

Engineering & Science Foundation News

College of Engineering & Science to Host Building Fundraiser

The College of Engineering and Science held its "Building upon the Legacy" auction fundraiser on Friday, October 4, 2013, at the Squire Creek Country Club in Choudrant, Louisiana.

The new facility will provide a new, active learning space for first- and second-year engineering and science students and serve as a recruiting tool for the program, helping to further cement Louisiana Tech’s reputation as a national leader in engineering and science education.

Louisiana Tech Engineering & Science Foundation Elects 2013-14 Officers and Directors

The Louisiana Tech Engineering and Science Foundation has elected new directors and announced its officers for the 2013-2014 year. The group met in Houston on April 5, 2013 for their spring board meeting and announced the election results.

Headshot of ESF President Sandy Johnson

Sandy Johnson, President and owner of Barrios Technology in Houston, Texas, will be the new President of the ESF Board. She graduated from Louisiana Tech in 1978 with a degree in math.

Mike Pearson, CEO of Orion Marine Group in Houston, Texas, will be the Immediate Past President. He joined Orion Marine Group as President and Chief Operating Officer in March 2006. Pearson graduated from Louisiana Tech in civil engineering in 1969. He has previously served as the group’s Vice-President and President.

Tim Petrus, Vice-President of MS Partners in Fort Worth, Texas, will be the new Vice-President, and Rick Shaw of Lakewood Ranch, Florida, will be the Treasurer. Zeffrey Lucas of Houston, Texas, will be the new Secretary.

The new Directors include Jim Dixon, President and CEO of Compucom in Dallas, Texas; Ernest Green, Site Leader for Dow Angus in Sterlington, Louisiana; Trott Hunt, President and Owner of HGA in Ruston, Louisiana; Laura Hunt with Dow Chemical Company in Midland, Michigan; Bob Hamm, CEO of Hamm Enterprises in Shreveport; Taylor Fritz with Cameron in Houston, Texas; and Jon Manns, Plant Manager of PPG in Lake Charles.  Monty Offutt, Associate Technical Fellow with Boeing in Huntsville, Alabama, was re-elected to a second three-year term.

The Louisiana Tech Engineering and Science Foundation Board of Directors meets three times annually and advises the dean of the College on matters of need.

ESF President Featured in the Houston Business Chronicle

ESF President, Michael Pearson, was interviewed for the March 29-April 4, 2013 "Face to Face with..." section of the Houston Business Chronicle. You can read the article here.

College of Engineering and Science Announces 2013 Distinguished Alumni

Louisiana Tech University’s College of Engineering and Science has selected recipients for its 2013 Distinguished Alumni Awards, which recognize individuals from each program or discipline in the College for their professional accomplishments in engineering and science as well as their service as outstanding ambassadors for Louisiana Tech.

The 2013 award recipients are:

Jeffery Slade (’81), B.S. biomedical engineering – Quality Director for Merck Consumer Care Global Products & Projects: Chattanooga, Tennessee

Thomas Muse (’59), B.S. chemical engineering – Chairman of Muse, Stancil and Company: Dallas, Texas

Sandra Swayze (’82), B.S. chemistry – Assistant Professor of Radiation Oncology, University of Kentucky, Department of Radiation Medicine: Lexington, Kentucky

Sean Callan (’97), B.S. civil engineering – Vice President of Advanced Geosolutions, Inc.: Portola Hills, California

Debra Blackman (’75), B.S. computer science – Senior Vice President and Chief Information Officer for Progressive Bank: Monroe, Louisiana

A.C. Hollins, Jr. (’72), B.S. construction engineering technology – Director of Operations and Infrastructure for National Security Technologies: Las Vegas, Nevada

William Slack (’71), B.S. electrical engineering – President of B&D Electrical Contractors, Inc.: Henderson, Texas

Ernest Green (’81), B.S. electrical engineering technology – Site Manager for Angus Chemical Company: Sterlington, Louisiana

William K. Sales, Jr. (’79), B.S. industrial engineering – Senior Vice President of Operations for Reliance Steel and Aluminum Company: Coto de Caza, California

Paul Reichley (’62), B.S. mathematics and statistics – Retired Project Manager for CIT Jet Propulsion Lab: Palm Desert, California

John Coast (’64), B.S. mechanical engineering – Owner and Founder for Coast Machinery, LLC: Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Les Sisemore (’67), B.S. physics – Retired President for VGO Enterprises, LLC: Ruston, Louisiana

Robert Mack Caruthers (’61), B.S. petroleum engineering – Retired Professor and Department Head, Department of Petroleum: Brentwood, Tennessee

The College of Engineering and Science at Louisiana Tech consists of eight engineering programs (biomedical, chemical, civil, cyber, electrical, industrial, mechanical and nanosystems engineering), two engineering technology programs (construction and electrical engineering technology), and four science programs (chemistry, computer science, mathematics and physics). The College offers undergraduate degree programs in each of these areas, as well as graduate degrees in engineering and science at both the master’s and doctoral level.

Known for its integrated approach to both education and research, the College is an affiliate of the National Academy of Engineering’s Center for the Advancement of Scholarship in Engineering Education.