Louisiana Tech University Logo

College of Engineering & Science - Louisiana Tech University


Computational Analysis & Modeling

Faculty

Program: Biomedical Engineering

Name

Email

Research Focus

Cronk, Stan cronk@latech.edu Assistive Technologies for Rehabilitation
DeCoster, Mark decoster@latech.edu Cellular neuroscience, image processing
Iasemidis, Leonidas Leonidas@latech.edu

Nonlinear dynamics and the development of new measures of dynamics for the detection, prediction and control of crises in complex coupled systems, in particular the animal and human epileptic brain


Program: Computer Science

Name

Email

Research Focus

Atkison, Travis atkison@latech.edu Computer security, software assurance, computer forensics, control system security, software engineering, knowledge discovery and data mining, and information retrieval
Choi, Ben choi@latech.edu Web page classification tools; robotics and virtual reality; tools for parallel and distributed computing
Dua, Sumeet sdua@latech.edu Data mining in high -dimensional data domains: Bioinformatics, Biomedical and Clinical Informatics, Distributed heterogeneous database integration
Gourd, Jean jgourd@latech.edu Cyber security, artificial intelligence, soft computing, distributed computing, and software engineering
Leangsuksun, Box box@latech.edu High Availability and Performance Computing. Intelligent component-based Software Engineering; Convergence Computing and Service Engineering (Wireless, Wireline, IP, VOIP, Telephony, Presence and IM, devices based)
Phoha, Vir phoha@latech.edu Web and Internet Security, Soft Computing, Fault Mitigation in software systems


Program: Mathematics and Statistics

Name

Email

Research Focus

Dai, Weizhong

dai@latech.edu

Numerical methods for heat transfer; Computational fluid dynamics; Numerical simulation for bioelectro-magnetics; Numerical methods for Micro-fabrication

Evans, Katie

kevans@latech.edu

Stat Control theory; numerical analysis; dynamic modeling of physical systems

Hou, Songming

shou@latech.edu

Time Reversal and Imaging, interface problems 

Liu, Don

donliu@latech.edu

Applied mathematics, numerical solutions to PDE; modeling of Microsystems

Nassar, Raj

nassar@latech.edu

Applied statistics; stochastic processes

Schröder, Bernd

schroder@latech.edu

Ordered sets; decision problems; complexity; the reconstruction problem in ordered sets; harmonizable stochastic processes

Cahoy, Dexter

dcahoy@latech.edu

Parameter estimation in fractional stochastic processes, Nonparametric regression (Bayesian and Frequentist), Data mining, Multivariate methods, Statistical and probabilistic applications in network traffic such as modeling internet traffic via fractional calculus


Program: Physics

Name

Email

Research Focus

Derosa, Pedro pderosa@latech.edu Molecular simulations, semi-empirical methods, and molecular dynamics;Modeling of polymers and nanostructured materials
Greenwood, Dick greenw@phys.latech.edu Grid-Computing for HEP data analysis; Monte-Carlo methods for HEPDetector design and optimization
Sawyer, Lee sawyer@phys.latech.edu Software design for HEP data acquisition and analysis; Detector simulations for experiments at future colliders
Simicevic, Neven jdranka@latech.edu Monte-Carlo methods for nuclear physics experiment design; interaction of EM pulses with biological tissue; computational physics
Wells, Steve wells@phys.latech.edu Monte-Carlo methods for nuclear physics experiment design; scattering theory; computational physics
Wobisch, Markus wobisch@latech.edu Development of fast next-to-leading order QCD calculation methods


Program: Chemistry

Name

Email

Research Focus

Ramachandran, Ramu

ramu@latech.edu Computational chemistry; quantum and classical molecular reaction dynamics
Wick, Collin cwick@latech.edu Molecular dynamics simulations, ionic liquids, lithium ion batteries, proton transport in fuel cells, thermodynamics of polymer solutions, coarse-graining methods for molecular modeling, molecular simulation of phase equilibrium


Program: Mechanical Engineering

Name

Email

Research Focus

Hall, David dehall@latech.edu Experimental, computational, and analytical modeling for pipeline rehabilitation; Visualization methods for engineering
Hegab, Hisham hhegab@latech.edu Computational methods in heat transfer and fluid mechanics
Orr, Marisa

marisao@latech.edu

Student persistence and pathways in engineering, academic policy, student-centered active learning, and terramechanics


Program: Industrial Engineering

Name

Email

Research Focus

Ker, Jun-Ing ker@latech.edu Automated inspection; Quality control; Human Factors; Computer Vision
Sule, Dileep sule@latech.edu Industrial statistics; facilities location; scheduling


Program: Civil Engineering

Name

Email

Research Focus

Wang, Jay xwang@latech.edu Application of the Finite Element Method to geo-technical engineering, Soil mechanics and computational mechanics.


Program: Chemical Engineering

Name

Email

Research Focus

Mainardi, Daniela mainardi@latech.edu Computational molecular modeling; electrochemistry; nanotechnology
Palmer, James jpalmer@latech.edu Chemical reactor modeling, micro-mixing, fluid dynamics, micro-channel reactors
Sherer, Eric

esherer@latech.edu

Disease progression modeling; screening and surveillance of colorectal cancer; application of genetic algorithms for pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic modeling building


Program: Electrical Engineering

Name

Email

Research Focus

Selmic, Rastko rselmic@latech.edu Wireless sensor networks; Adaptive control, neural networks, and fuzzy logic. in control systems
Que, Long lque@latech.edu Design and modeling of micro and nanodevices and systems

 

Program:  Biology and Environmental Sciences

Name

Email

Research Focus

Yule, Jeffrey  jyule@latech.edu 

Modeling of Extinctions and Ecological Evolutionary-ecological, and Environmental Systems


Program: Business

Name

Email

Research Focus

Cochran, Jim jcochran@latech.edu Applied statistics, computationally intensive statistics, statistical learning, large scale constrained optimization
Roberts, Tom

troberts@latech.edu

 

Program: Forestry

Name

Email

Research Focus

Strimbu, Bogdan strimbu@latech.edu Biometrics, sampling, landscape level planning and remote sensing