Louisiana Tech inducts new members into the Order of the Engineer

May 13, 2015 | Engineering and Science

Louisiana Tech University has inducted 59 new members into its “Order of the Engineer,” a national organization established and dedicated to upholding devotion to the standards and dignity of the engineering profession.
Louisiana Tech Order of the Engineer

Louisiana Tech Order of the Engineer

During the ceremony, initiates received a stainless steel ring to wear on the fifth finger of the working hand and accepted the Obligation of the Engineer, a code of ethics in which they pledge to uphold the standards and dignity of the engineering profession and to use the principles of science and technology to serve humanity. “We are pleased to see so many of our graduating seniors take this pledge,” Dr. Jenna Carpenter, associate dean of undergraduate studies in the College of Engineering and Science said. “While this is an optional activity, it underscores the importance of upholding the highest ethical standards in the practice of engineering and reflects the high standards we set for our students in engineering ethics.” New members are as follows: Daniel Adams Nwadiuto Nkenyika Chimdiya Adebamiji Agustine Aelavanthara Christy Aelavanthar Justin James Agar Courtney Allbritton Richard Ellis Bennett Anuj Bhandari Vaughan Raymond Bogran Nicole Boothe Layton Crawford Bigyan Dahal Nimesh Dahal Mallory Dupont Kailey Dupre Forest Scott Engel Ryan Gilbert Justin Caleb Burt Heard Jacques Honore, Jr. Justin Taylor Huckaby Zachary Stephen Hudak Lasan T. K. Ihalekkankanamalage Marley Jackson Ashley Lauren Kennedy MD Ehsan Khan Kyle Kight Dinesha Malky Kuruppuarachchi Caleb M. Lofton Anthony Frank Lombard III Sudip Manandhar Sean Manteris Tanner Ray Martin Thomas Allen Martin III Avinash Maskey Josiah David McCloud Logan Paul Michel Daniel William Moller, Ph.D. Jonathan Adam Niemirowski Nicole Oertel Wallace Joseph Olinde III Sarah M. Ray Camri Aniece Robinson Parker Allen Rogers Ryan John Blas Salas Darpan Shrestha Caitlin Smith Jacob Paul Smith Suganeya Soundararajan Christa Anne Swafford Eleanor Dare Lott Swafford Morgan Brittany Tanner Mark Wade Taylor, Jr. Jacob Anthony Tejada Jeanne Thibodeaux Samuel Paul Thurkill Johanna Lieselotte Vrabel Jonathan S. Weerakkody Logan James Wells Casey Wood “We are proud that so many of the our graduating students recognize the impact their decisions as engineers will have on society and are making this pledge to show their dedication to the profession and for service to others,” said Dr. Hisham Hegab, dean of Louisiana Tech’s College of Engineering and Science. In addition to the induction of the new graduates, Dr. Daniel Moller, a lecturer of mechanical engineering for the College of Engineering and Science, and Eleanor Swafford, who received her degree in electrical engineering from Louisiana Tech in 1988, were also inducted in the Order of the Engineer. The Order of the Engineer was initiated in the United States to foster a spirit of pride and responsibility in the engineering profession, to bridge the gap between training and experience, and to present to the public a visible symbol identifying the engineer. The first ceremony was held on June 4, 1970 at Cleveland State University. Since then, similar ceremonies have been held across the United States with ceremonies conducted by Links (local sections) of the Order. The Louisiana Tech inductees join a dedicated and prestigious group of engineers from across the nation, which includes a number of Louisiana Tech graduates. Louisiana Tech has been a member in the organization since 2005. Written by Brandy McKnight –