COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING & SCIENCE

Physics

Program Highlights

Students choose from interdisciplinary concentrations in astrophysics, geophysics, materials science, biophysics, mathematical physics, and solid-state physics. Undergraduate students can pursue a double degree in physics and electrical engineering. Students have an excellent opportunity to gain research experience at the Center for Applied Physics Studies (CAPS) and at the Institute for Micromanufacturing. Students who chose to perform research with CAPS may focus on particle and nuclear physics, modeling, or biophysics. There are several ongoing research projects, each a collaborative effort involving top research laboratories at the national and international levels. Students who choose to perform research with the Institute for Micromanufacturing may focus on biophysics and nanobiotechnology.

Job Opportunities

  • Applications engineer
  • Data analyst
  • Design engineer
  • Geophysicist seismologist
  • IT consultant
  • Higher education lecturer
  • Laser engineer
  • Nanotechnologist
  • Radiation protection practitioner

Loading…

Advising Materials

For a list of prerequisites and required courses, select the curriculum sheet below.

Physics Curriculum Sheet

Faculty

David Archer

Adjunct Instructor

Department: Physics

Office: CTLH 339

Phone: 318.257.2461

Fax: 318.257.3823

Email: darcher@latech.edu

Dr. Rakitha Beminiwattha

Assistant Professor

Department: Physics

Office: EA 210

Phone: 318-257-2435

Fax: 318-257-3823

Email: rakithab@latech.edu

Dr. Thomas Bishop

Associate Professor

Departments: Center for Biomedical Engineering and Rehabilitation Sciences, Chemistry, Molecular Science and Nanotechnology, Nanosystems Engineering, Physics

Office: BMEB 231

Phone: 318-257-5209

Fax: 318-257-3823

Email: bishop@latech.edu

Dr. Pedro Derosa

Professor

Departments: Institute for Micromanufacturing, Molecular Science and Nanotechnology, Nanosystems Engineering, Physics

Office: IFMM 216

Phone: 318-257-5139

Fax: 318-257-3823

Email: pderosa@latech.edu

Dr. Dentcho A. Genov

Associate Professor

Departments: Electrical Engineering, Nanosystems Engineering, Physics

Office: EA 220

Phone: 318-257-4190

Fax: 318-257-3823

Email: dgenov@latech.edu

Dr. Zeno D. “Dick” Greenwood

Professor Emeritus

Department: Physics

Office: EA 113

Phone: 318.257.2302

Email: greenw@latech.edu

Dr. Yuri Lvov

Professor

Departments: Center for Biomedical Engineering and Rehabilitation Sciences, Chemistry, Institute for Micromanufacturing, Molecular Science and Nanotechnology, Nanosystems Engineering, Physics

Office: IFMM 214

Phone: 318-257-5144

Fax: 318-257-3823

Email: ylvov@latech.edu

Carla Offill

Administrative Coordinator 3

Departments: Administrative and Technical Staff, Chemistry, Physics

Office: CTLH 316

Phone: 318-257-4911

Fax: 318-257-3823

Email: coffill@latech.edu

Dr. Lee Sawyer

Director, Professor

Departments: Chemistry, Physics

Office: CTLH 316A

Phone: 318-257-4053

Fax: 318-257-3823

Email: sawyer@latech.edu

Dr. John Shaw

Lecturer

Department: Physics

Office: CTLH 242

Phone: 318-257-4240

Fax: 318-257-3823

Email: jshaw@latech.edu

Dr. Neven Simicevic

Assistant Director, Professor

Department: Physics

Office: EA 212

Phone: 318-257-3591

Fax: 318-257-3823

Email: neven@latech.edu

Dr. Steven Wells

Program Chair, Professor

Department: Physics

Office: EA 214

Phone: 318-257-2194

Fax: 318-257-3823

Email: steve@latech.edu

Dr. Markus Wobisch

Associate Professor

Department: Physics

Office: EA 207

Phone: 318-257-4974

Fax: 318-257-4630

Email: wobisch@latech.edu