COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING & SCIENCE

Chemistry

Program Highlights

The Chemistry program at Louisiana Tech provides a number of career options, including attending medical, dental, pharmacy and veterinarian school, pursuing graduate study in chemistry, working in industrial and government laboratories, and teaching in secondary schools. A student majoring in the Bachelor of Science Chemistry program has a choice between pursuing a traditional Chemistry track or an alternative Biochemistry track that also serves pre-medical, pre-dental, pre-veterinary, pre-pharmaceutical school students. Chemistry faculty members specialize in analytical chemistry, biochemistry, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, and physical chemistry. To learn more about the biochemistry track for pre-medicine or pre-dentistry, please visit the university catalog Loading….

Students may also participate in the UTEACH program: ONE DEGREE. TWO CAREERS. ENDLESS POSSIBILITIES.

Job Opportunities

  • Analytical chemist
  • Chemical engineer
  • Healthcare scientist
  • Clinical biochemistry
  • Forensic scientist
  • Nanotechnologist
  • Pharmacologist
  • Research scientist (physical sciences)
  • Toxicologist

Loading…

Faculty

Dr. Thomas Bishop

Associate Professor

Departments: Center for Biomedical Engineering and Rehabilitation Sciences, Chemistry, Molecular Science and Nanotechnology, Nanosystems Engineering, Physics

Office: BMEB 231

Phone: 318-257-5209

Fax: 318-257-3823

Email: bishop@latech.edu

Gail Bridges

Adjunct Instructor

Department: Chemistry

Office: CTLH 341

Phone: 318-257-2371

Fax: 318-257-3823

Email: gbridges@latech.edu

Dr. Marsha Cole

Lecturer

Department: Chemistry

Office: CTLH 343

Phone: 318-257-4092

Fax: 318-257-3823

Email: cole@latech.edu

Dr. Marilyn Blagg Cox

Program Chair, Senior Lecturer

Department: Chemistry

Phone: 318.257.4631

Fax: 318.257.3823

Email: mbcox@latech.edu

Dr. Marilyn Blagg Cox

Program Chair and Senior Lecturer

Department: Chemistry

Office: CTLH 335

Phone: 318-257-4631

Fax: 318-257-3823

Email: mbcox@latech.edu

Dr. William Deese

Professor

Department: Chemistry

Office: CTLH 241

Phone: 318-257-4878

Fax: 318-257-3823

Email: wcdeese@latech.edu

Danny Eddy

Instructor

Department: Chemistry

Office: CTLH 329

Phone: 318-257-4393

Fax: 318-257-3823

Email: deddy@latech.edu

Dr. Sven Eklund

Associate Professor

Departments: Center for Biomedical Engineering and Rehabilitation Sciences, Chemistry, Molecular Science and Nanotechnology

Office: CTLH 331

Phone: 318-257-4214

Fax: 318-257-3823

Email: seklund@latech.edu

Dr. Elisabeth Fatila

Assistant Professor

Departments: Chemistry, Molecular Science and Nanotechnology

Office: CTLH 311

Phone: 318-257-4941

Fax: 318-257-3823

Email: efatila@latech.edu

Dr. Kristopher Harris

Assistant Professor

Department: Chemistry

Office: CTLH 243

Fax: 318-257-3823

Dr. Yuri Lvov

Professor

Departments: Center for Biomedical Engineering and Rehabilitation Sciences, Chemistry, Institute for Micromanufacturing, Molecular Science and Nanotechnology, Nanosystems Engineering, Physics

Office: IFMM 214

Phone: 318-257-5144

Fax: 318-257-3823

Email: ylvov@latech.edu

Dr. Philip J. McMullan

Lecturer

Department: Chemistry

Office: CTLH 233

Phone: 318-257-4793

Fax: 318-257-3823

Email: mcmullan@latech.edu

Carla Offill

Administrative Coordinator 3

Departments: Administrative and Technical Staff, Chemistry, Physics

Office: CTLH 316

Phone: 318-257-4911

Fax: 318-257-3823

Email: coffill@latech.edu

Dr. Scott Poh

Assistant Professor

Departments: Center for Biomedical Engineering and Rehabilitation Sciences, Chemistry, Institute for Micromanufacturing, Molecular Science and Nanotechnology, Nanosystems Engineering

Office: CTLH 239

Phone: 318-257-2373

Fax: 318-257-3823

Email: spoh@latech.edu

Dr. Lee Sawyer

Director, Professor

Departments: Chemistry, Physics

Office: CTLH 316A

Phone: 318-257-4053

Fax: 318-257-3823

Email: sawyer@latech.edu

Jessica Wasserman

Instructor

Department: Chemistry

Office: CTLH 337

Phone: 318-257-2423

Fax: 318-257-3823

Email: jessicaw@latech.edu

Nicole Webb

Lecturer

Department: Chemistry

Office: CTLH 305

Phone: 318-257-4403

Fax: 318-257-3823

Email: nwebb@latech.edu

Dr. Collin Wick

Associate Dean

Departments: Chemistry, Graduate Studies Office, Molecular Science and Nanotechnology

Office: BOGH 253A

Phone: 318-257-2345

Fax: 318-257-4339

Email: cwick@latech.edu