COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING & SCIENCE

Mechanical Engineering

Program Highlights

Mechanical engineers design, develop, test, manufacture and maintain machines, systems, devices and components for the betterment of society. Of all the engineering disciplines, mechanical engineering is the most diversified and offers the largest selection of career paths. If you can see it or touch it, a mechanical engineer probably helped to create it.

Mechanical engineers may deal with hardware as small as a microchip or as large as an aircraft carrier. They may work from the bottom of the ocean up to the weightless environment of interplanetary space.

The Louisiana Tech Mechanical Engineering program is accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission (EAC) of ABET. To find out more information about the program mission, educational objectives, student outcomes and enrollment and graduation data, go to our Accreditation & Enrollment page.

Job Opportunities

  • Aerospace engineering
  • Automatic control systems
  • Automotive engineer
  • Computer-aided design and manufacturing
  • Control and instrumentation engineer
  • Energy conversion, utilization, and storage
  • Engineering materials
  • Environmental engineering
  • Machine design
  • Maintenance engineer
  • Manufacturing processes
  • Medicine
  • Nuclear engineer
  • Production manager
  • Robotics
  • Stress analysis
  • Technical sales engineer
  • Thermal systems
  • Water engineer

Loading…

Faculty

Sue Antony

Administrative Coordinator 3

Departments: Administrative and Technical Staff, Civil Engineering, Construction Engineering Technology, Mechanical Engineering

Office: BOGH 257

Phone: 318-257-2357

Fax: 318-257-2562

Email: santony@latech.edu

Dr. Prabhu Arumugam

Associate Professor

Departments: Center for Biomedical Engineering and Rehabilitation Sciences, Institute for Micromanufacturing, Mechanical Engineering, Nanosystems Engineering

Office: IFMM 213

Phone: 318-257-5122

Fax: 318-257-2777

Email: parumug@latech.edu

Dr. Hamzeh Bardaweel

Assistant Professor

Departments: Institute for Micromanufacturing, Mechanical Engineering, Nanosystems Engineering

Office: IFMM 212

Phone: 318-257-5134

Fax: 318.257-2777

Email: hamzehb@latech.edu

Dr. Eric Borquist

Lecturer

Departments: Instrumentation and Control Systems Engineering Technology, Mechanical Engineering

Office: Bogard Hall 242

Phone: 318-257-5121

Fax: 318-257-2562

Email: borquist@latech.edu

Dr. Henry Cardenas

Associate Professor

Departments: Mechanical Engineering, Nanosystems Engineering

Office: BOGH 255

Phone: 318-257-4600

Fax: 318-257-2562

Email: cardenas@latech.edu

Dr. Xiang (Shawn) Chen

Assistant Professor

Departments: Institute for Micromanufacturing, Mechanical Engineering

Office: IfM 209

Phone: 318.257.2616

Email: shawnxc@latech.edu

Dr. Krystal Corbett

Lecturer

Department: Mechanical Engineering

Office: BOGH 213

Phone: 318-257-2422

Fax: 318.257-2562

Email: kcorbett@latech.edu

Dr. Kelly Crittenden

Program Chair and Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering

Departments: Mechanical Engineering, Nanosystems Engineering

Office: BOGH 256

Phone: 318-257-2714

Fax: 318.257-2562

Email: kellyc@latech.edu

Dr. David E. Hall

Director – Instrumentation and Control Systems Engineering Technology, Director – Industrial Engineering, Director – Project-Based Learning, Associate Professor – Mechanical Engineering

Departments: Industrial Engineering, Instrumentation and Control Systems Engineering Technology, Mechanical Engineering

Office: BOGH 222A

Phone: 318-257-4127

Fax: 318-257-2562

Email: dhall@latech.edu

Dr. Ethan Clark Hilton

Assistant Professor

Department: Mechanical Engineering

Office: BOGH 226

Phone: 318.257.2483

Email: ehilton@latech.edu

Dr. Don Liu

Professor

Departments: Mathematics and Statistics, Mechanical Engineering, Molecular Science and Nanotechnology

Office: GTMH 374

Phone: 318-257-4670

Fax: 318-257-2182

Email: donliu@latech.edu

Dr. William Long

Lecturer

Departments: Instrumentation and Control Systems Engineering Technology, Mechanical Engineering

Office: BOGH 212

Phone: 318-257-2157

Fax: 318-257-2562

Email: long@latech.edu

Dr. Kasra Momeni

Assistant Professor

Departments: Institute for Micromanufacturing, Mechanical Engineering

Office: IFMM 114

Phone: 318-257-2407

Fax: 318.257-2777

Email: kmomeni@latech.edu

Dr.  Arden Moore

Associate Professor

Departments: Institute for Micromanufacturing, Mechanical Engineering, Nanosystems Engineering

Office: IFMM 116

Phone: 318-257-5142

Fax: 318.257-2777

Email: amoore@latech.edu

Dr. Timothy Reeves

Lecturer

Department: Mechanical Engineering

Office: BOGH 237

Phone: 318-257-2395

Fax: 318.257-2562

Email: treeves@latech.edu

Dr. Louis Reis

Lecturer

Department: Mechanical Engineering

Office: BMEB 232

Phone: 318-257-2954

Fax: 318.257-2562

Email: lgreis@latech.edu

Dr. Michael Swanbom

Distinguished Lecturer

Departments: Electrical Engineering Technology, Instrumentation and Control Systems Engineering Technology, Integrated STEM Research Center, Mechanical Engineering

Office: BOGH 239

Phone: 318-257-3908

Fax: 318-257-2562

Email: mswanbom@latech.edu

Dr. Leland Weiss

Director – Civil Engineering, Construction Engineering Technology, Mechanical Engineering, Associate Professor – Mechanical Engineering

Departments: Civil Engineering, Construction Engineering Technology, Institute for Micromanufacturing, Mechanical Engineering, Molecular Science and Nanotechnology, Nanosystems Engineering

Office: BOGH 258

Phone: 318-257-5113

Fax: 318-257-2562

Email: lweiss@latech.edu